DCEEC Officers
Jim Serfass , DCEEC Co-President 2017-2019
NatureBridge- [email protected]
Jim is the Outreach Manager for NatureBridge: Mid-Atlantic Region. His main role is to promote NatureBridge’s overnight environmental education school programs offered in Prince William Forest Park and summer programs in Shenandoah National Park. Jim works with teachers, administrators, and students in order to make each group’s experience as meaningful and impactful as it can be. Jim has been in the experiential education field for ten years, working as an educator, ropes course director, campus coordinator, and program manager at several different organizations on both coasts. Jim has a B.S. in Environmental Science from Juniata College and recently earned an M.S. in Recreation & Parks Management from Frostburg State University.

Alexis Dickerson, DCEEC Co-President 2018-2020
Chesapeake Bay Foundation [email protected]
Alexis is the D.C. Urban Outreach Educator, Potomac River Environmental Education Program at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation since May 2016. Alexis has a BA in American Studies and Ethnicities, minor Sociology, University of Southern California (USC) and has done Graduate work in Sociology, University of North Carolina (UNC) Chapel Hill. Moreover she has a Certificate in Urban Sustainable Agriculture and Agribusiness, University of the District of Columbia and is a Master Gardener. Prior to working at Chesapeake Bay Foundation Alexis was the Director of Programs, National Society of Black Engineers.

Ariel Trahan, DCEEC Treasurer
Anacostia Watershed Society [email protected]
As a native Michigander who grew up swimming in crystal clear lakes and rivers Ariel is passionate about making sure that everyone has access to clean water.  Since coming to AWS in 2009 Ariel has been working to find new ways to connect people to the Anacostia River. As Director of Education, Ariel oversees our youth and adult education programs. On any given day you might find Ariel in a classroom teaching students about impervious surfaces, leading a group of 7th graders on a canoe trip, or planting wild rice with 4th graders in the mudflats of Kenilworth Marsh. Ariel works not only to connect people to the Anacostia River, but also to ensure that environmental education is embedded in the curriculum of our local schools. She serves on the Prince George’s County Public Schools Environmental Literacy Steering Committee, the Mid Atlantic Environmental Literacy Workgroup, and on the board of the DC Environmental Education Consortium.

DCEEC Committees
TBD, Ways and Means Committee Chair

Lauren Meyer, DCEEC Secretary
Casey Trees [email protected]

Kurt Moser, Education Committee Chair
Consultant – [email protected]
Kurt is an independent researcher in environmental science and urban landscape ecology, with seven years’ experience in environmental education in the District, most recently with Earth Force. His M.S. is in environmental science and policy, with emphasis in wetland science. Kurt is a former member of the Alexandria Environmental Policy Commission and is actively involved in Northern Virginia with TreeStewards and with NoVA Outside.Kurt Moser was DCEEC co-president from 2015-2017

Shawn Balon, Outreach Committee Chair

Sarah Holway, Schoolyard Greening Committee Chair
DC Greens- [email protected]
Sarah is co-founder of DC Greens, a non-profit that uses the power of partnerships to support food education, food access, and food policy in the nation’s capital. She is currently DC Greens’ Education Director, oversees professional development trainings for garden educators and classroom teachers, helped craft the DC Healthy Schools Act of 2010, and developed a school garden pilot program for DCPS. She is also a Nationally Board Certified teacher.

DCEEC past Co-Presidents
2017-2018 Naamal De Silva
2016-2017 Kurt Moser
2014 Cassie Hughes
2011-2013 Ariel Trahan
2010-2012 Rebecca Davis
2009-2010 Grace Manubay
2009 Carl Rollins
2008 Ann Posegate
2007-2008 Shelby Laubhan
2006-2007 Jen McDonnell
2006 Gilda Allen

Founding Executive Board of DCEEC
Gloria Allen, Jim Butler, Dorothy Barton, Jim O’Connor and Julia Washburn were founding members. Gilda Allen and Louise Chapman joined the group and became part of the Founding Board.